K리그1・2의 최신 소식을 모두 확인 할 수 있는 공간입니다.

Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors Win 2021 K League 1 Championship

league 2021.12.06   I   조회수 588

Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors are K League Champions for a record fifth consecutive season after sealing the club's ninth title overall on Sunday. The Green Warriors sealed their latest crown on the final day following a 2-0 win over Jeju United. 

In what was one of the closest K League 1 title races ever, Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors have made it five titles in a row and a first for new manager Kim Sang-sik.

Needing just a draw, Jeonbuk ran out 2-0 winners thanks to second-half strikes from Han Kyo-won and Song Min-kyu.

A Jeonbuk legend as a player, Kim guided the Green Warriors to 22 victories from 38 games, giving him a 59% win ratio.

Jeonbuk's attack was led by Brazilian ace Gustavo and "first-class" Stanislav Iljutcenko who bagged 15 goals each. Both finish the season level to share the mantel of leading goalscorer.

The duo also became the first Jeonbuk players to reach 15 goals in a single season since Lee Dong-gook (26) and Eninho (15) in 2012.

Overall, Jeonbuk scored the most goals in K League 1 this season with 71, conceded the fewest with 38 and won 22 matches out of 38.

Kim Bo-kyung ends the season as the league's joint-leading assist maker with 10.

The 2021 Hana 1Q K League title is a first piece of silverware for Paik Seung-ho, who joined Jeonbuk in the summer from German club Darmstadt, as well as fellow Korean international Song Min-kyu who was signed from Pohang Steelers earlier this year and his former Steelers teammate Stanislav Iljutcenjko.

Paul Neat
Managing Editor